Newsletter subscribe

PSL 2017, Results

Match 8 Results: Lahore Qalandars Thrashed Karachi Kings to bag first win in PSL 2017

Posted: February 16, 2017 at 11:51 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

The 8th match of PSL 2017 was played between two arch rivals Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah. This match was very crucial for Karachi Kings, as they had already lost their two matches in PSl 2017 agaisnt Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators. Now, they had to win this match to mark their first success against any team in PSL 2. On the other hand, Lahore Qalandars also lost two matches against Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi . To remain in the competition Lahore Qalandars are also very keen to win this match. Karachi Kings won the toss, and team captain K Sangakkara decided to bowl first.

Players from Lahore Qalandars who participated in PSL 8th match were Brendon McCullum, Azhar Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Cameron Delport, Sohail Tanvir, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Yasir Shah, James Franklin, Fakhar Zaman, Bilawal Bhatti, Ghulam Mudassar, Usman Qadir, Grant Elliot, Aamer Yamin, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Irfan, Zafar Gohar, Chris Green and Saif Badar.

Whereas, the players from Karachi Kings were Kumar Sangakkara, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Safiullah Bangash, Khurram Manzoor, Kashif Bhatti, Chris Gayle, Babar Azam, Imad Wasim,  Shazaib Hasan, Usama Mir, Rahat Ali, Kieron Pollard, Ryan McLaren, Mahela Jayawardene, Sohail Khan, Hasan Mohsin, Amad Alam, Abrar Ahmed, and Ravi Bopara.

In the first innings, Jason Roy and Captain Brendon McCullum from Qalandars came first to bat against bowling of Kings. McCullum didn’t perform well, and he was sent back to pavilion after contributing zero score at all. His wicket was taken by Imad Wasim during the second over. It was stressing moment for Qalandars, however, next batsman Fakhar Zaman came to the pitch and he contributed good scores of 56 runs with five boundaries and three sixes.

Fakhar Zaman helped Qalandars a lot to give a big target to Kings. Second wicket of Jason Roy was taken by Sohail Khan after he scored 26 runs. Besides, Roy and Fakhar Zaman, Umar Akmal and Mohammad Rizwan also scored well. They were successful in making 25 and 29 runs respectively. At the end of twenty overs, Qalandars were able to make a fine score of 179 runs with the loss of 8 wickets.

In the second innings, Babar Azam and Chris Gayle came to bat first. Both openers could not make any reasonable score and got smashed after scoring just nine and five runs respectively. It was a bad start for Karachi Kings. However, after that captain K Sangakkara and Shoaib Malik came to the pitch and they made a good partnership. Both helped Kings a lot to chase a big target given by Qalandars. Sangakkara made a highest score of 65, whereas, Shoaib Malik scored a 39 runs.

Sangakkara and Shoaib Malik wicket was taken by Sohail Tanvir and Bilawal Bhatti respectively. After these two experienced players, no other batsman from Kings could score well. They all got smashed after making very minor scores. After losing eigth wickets, when Kings were trying hard to achieve their target, they unluckily lost the match by just seven runs as their twenty overs were completed.

Lahore Qalandars won the 8th match of PSL and player Fakhar Zaman won the man of the match title.



Comments (0)

write a comment

Name E-mail Website

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.