Newsletter subscribe

PSL 2017, Results

Match 7 Result: Islamabad United beats Quetta Gladiators

Posted: February 15, 2017 at 11:24 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Pakistan Super League 2017 seventh match was played between Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators team at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah. Venue of PSL was shifted to Sharjah from Dubai as it was decided previously while scheduling PSL second edition’s matches. Islamabad United won the toss and the team captain Misbah ul Haq decided to field first. This match was one of the most tough competitions of PSL as both United and Gladiators teams has remained as top two teams last year in PSL first edition and they both were selected as PSL 2016 finalist teams.

Players from Islamabad United team who participated in PSL seventh match were Misbah-ul-Haq, Shane Watson, Dwayne Smith, Ben Duckkett, Steven Finn, Mohammad Irfan, Saeed Ajmal, Imran Khalid, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Sami, Brad Haddin, Sam Billings, Hussain Talat, Amad Butt, Shadab Khan, Zohaib Khan, Rumman Raees, Syed Muzammil Shah and Asif Ali.

Whereas, the players from Quetta Gladiators team were Sarfraz Ahmed, Umar Gul, Mahmudullah Riyad, Anwar Ali, Hassan Khan, Nathan McCullum, Bismillah Khan, Mir Hamza, , Zulfiqar Babar, Saad Nasim, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Tymal Mills, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Nawaz, , Rilee Rossouw, Noor Wali and Umar Amin.               

In the first innings, Asad Shafiq and Ahmed Shahzad came to bat first from Quetta Gladiators team against the bowling of Islamabad United. Asad Shafiq came first and he performed best as well. He made a highest score of 45 runs from 42 balls with four boundaries. He was the highest scorer from Gladiators side. His wicket was taken by Shane Watson. After Asad, second highest scorer was a Bangaldeshi player Mahmudullah, who made a score of 29 runs and remained not out till the end of innings. After these two players, Ahmed Shahzad and Perera made a good score of 26 and 27 resepectively.

However, captain Sarfraz was able to make only 12 runs and his wicket was taken by Rumman Raees. Shane Watson and Mohammad Sami both took two wickets in the first innings. At the end of twenty overs, Gladiators were able to make a limited score of 148 with the loss of six wickets.

In the second innings, Dwayne Smith and Sam billings came first to bat against the bowling attacks of Quetta Gladiators. Smith could only make score of 10 runs and got smashed by Mohammad Nawaz at fifth over. However, Sam Billings remained not out till the end of match and he played a vital role in meeting target by scoring an amazing 78 runs with eight boundaries and three sixes. He was the highest scorer of this match.

<blockquote class=”twitter-video” data-lang=”en”><p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>14.5 SIX! Thisara Perera to Sam Billings<br> watch <a href=””></a><br> <a href=””>#IUvQG</a> <a href=””>#HBLPSL</a> <a href=””>#AbKhelJamayGa</a> <a href=””></a></p>&mdash; PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) <a href=”″>February 15, 2017</a></blockquote>
<script async src=”//” charset=”utf-8″></script>

After Sam Billings, Watson made a second highest score of 36 runs. However, captain Misbah ul Haq disappointed viewers by only scoring 10 runs. Brad Haddin and Asif Ali made six and one runs respectively. Haddin’s wicket was taken by Mohammad Nawaz and Asif Ali was smashed by Umar Gul. Overall, batting performance of Islamabad United was remarkable and they achieved the target at the very last over with the fall of five wickets only. The man of the match title was conquered by Sam Billings from Islamabad United team.



Comments (0)

write a comment

Name E-mail Website

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.