Newsletter subscribe

PSL 2017, Results

Match 1 Results : Defending Champion Islamabad United Beat Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 2017 Opening match

Kamran Akmal PSL 2017 Peshawar Zalmi Match 1
Posted: February 10, 2017 at 6:13 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

In the Opening Match of Pakistan Super League PSL 2017 Played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, the defending champions Islamabad United beat Peshawar Zalmi. Their victory was powered by 73 runs of Brad Haddin and 55 runs of Dwayne Smith.

Captain of Islamabad United Misbah ul Haq won the Toss and Elected to Field First. Peshawar Zalmi Started their innings and to their Surprise, their opening batsman Muhammad Hafeez got out for zero. After the departure of Muhammad Hafeez, Dawid Malan Joined Kamran Akmal on the crease. The duo played very well and Kamran Akmal Scored first fifty of PSL 2017. They played for creating the 2nd biggest partnership in PSL. Their partnership lasted for 122 runs. Islamabad United’s bowling didn’t look any impressive against Peshawar Zalmi Batsmen.

Kamran Akmal PSL 2017 Peshawar Zalmi Match 1

Kamran Akmal After scoring First Fifty of PSL 2017 source: Pakistan Super League

This partnership of Kamran Akmal and Dawid Malan was broken by Shane Watson when he dismissed Dawid Malan at 43 runs. Kamran Akmal continued to perform well and smashed 6 sixes and 6 fours before Muhammad Sami Dismissed him at 88 runs. Here the downfall of Peshawar Zalmi started and no coming batsman could make big score for the team. Islamabad United bowlers performed well lately and dismissed Peshawar Zalmi’s batsmen regularly. At the end of 20 overs Peshawar Zalmi was able to put 190 runs on board.

Islamabad United Started their innings well with a four by Dwayne Smith. Peshawar Zalmi bowlers got a breakthrough when they dismissed Sharjeel Khan for Just 1 run. Dwayne Smith and Brad Haddin later did what Kamran Akmal and Dawid Malan Did for Peshawar Zalmi. Brad Haddin made a quick fifty and helped setting a base for Islamabad United to win this opener match. Brad Haddin was dismissed by Jordan. He smahsed 8 fours and 3 sixes to make 73 runs. After Brad Haddin Shane Watson took the charge and played just like him.

In an interesting scenario, rain delayed the match in Dubai International Cricket Stadium. After the match was resumed, the target for Islamabad United was reduced to 175 runs in 18.2 overs. Peshawar Zalmi bowlers couldn’t take any advantage after the rain. Dwayne Smith and Shane Watson made some quick runs to bring their team closer to the victory.

Dwayne Smith was dismissed at 55 when the team’s total score was 166 and only 9 runs were required to win the match in 8 balls. Sam Billing was the next batsman who scored the winning runs for Islamabad United.

Unlike PSL 2016, Islamabad United started the tournament with a victory.  They got 2 valuable points which will obviously help them to reach to next stage.

Match 1 : Islamabad United vs Peshawar Zalmi Scorecard

Here is the Complete Scorecard of Match 1 of PSL 2017



Comments (0)

write a comment

Name E-mail Website

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.